top of page
Search

80/20 Heart/Mind = CHANGE

What is change? Why does it usually make someone feel uncomfortable when you mention it. Is it true that it implies something is not doing well, so it needs to be changed to improve? Personally, I am one who is not always happy with change, I would rather stick with what I am accustomed to until I find a VERY valid reason to change or maybe I am just left with no choice but to change and move on. If change to me is hard, how then can I convince or influence others to adapt and embrace change? The video clearly made a simple yet impactful technique to promote change, target the heart first, then the mind, and chances are, change will happen. The 80/20 heart to mind ratio may seem questionable but I believe this can be true. As a teacher, I have witnessed how an affective approach can make a difference with student engagement and response. With my early childhood

students, a simple nonverbal gesture or some words of encouragement can change how a child behaves or responds to a task. As adults, when we are confronted with the possibility or the need for change, our instinct reaction is to resist, but when someone provides us with the emotional concern and support, and less intellectual argument or debate, we will lean more on considering or even accepting the change. As I reflect on my innovation proposal to identify my “WHY” “HOW” and “WHAT,” it dawned to me how hard it truly was to come up with single statements and be able to clearly relay the message. Choice of words was the most important factor to consider, and less is more. My “why” had to be very insightful, I as the “seller” or proponent of this “product” or project need to believe in it so I can endorse it for others to buy, so I can influence them and make them feel its urgency. I should capture not only my audience’s mind but their heart too, that way, they can contemplate on taking on the change wholeheartedly.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page