top of page
Search

COVA and your ePortfolio




When they say learning is a lifelong journey, it really is. For the past couple months, and just on my second semester with the ADL program, my perspective and state of mind not only as an educator, but as a learner too, has tremendously changed. With all the readings, videos, and other references recommended with every course, we always hear and referred to our ideal learners to be 21st century learners. But as for me, I am also becoming a 21st century educator and learner with every lesson we tackle in class. Discovering the wonders of the COVA approach is my biggest accomplishment by far. It has clearly redefined for me the real core value and service mission of being a teacher. It is giving the students more opportunity to be involved with their learning and to actually experience each lesson through the process. Which leads me to my approach in creating and developing my ePortfolio. From zero idea with creating a website to now having a fully-published learning ePortfolio. It is still a work in progress that I regularly update, modify and tweak. I am learning something new every single time I get the chance to add something to improve it. It’s an exciting time for me to be able to put my personal touch to it (theme, style, layout, content). Like the famous article, “Who Owns your ePortfolio?”

it’s just me and me alone, I claim it, I own it, it is all mine. Aside from the COVA model which I intend to continue using and hopefully apply in my classroom, I also very fascinated with our lesson on cultivating a growth mindset in our learners. We often encourage our students to keep trying and learn from mistakes, and that is the foundation of building their confidence. Dr.Dweck’s fundamental ideas on developing and supporting a growth mindset is clearly a more detailed explanation on its significance and effectiveness. The concept of cultivating a growth mindset teaches us that if we can only learn and practice seeing an obstacle as an opportunity, change will happen, and most likely we will live a more meaningful life.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page