top of page
Search

Self Differentiated Leadership and Crucial Conversations


Ideally, I think the concept and ideas of both Differentiated Leadership and Crucial Conversations can make a significant impact on my change strategy. I agree with Friedman when he defined leadership an emotional process of regulating one’s own anxiety. As a prepare to become a future leader, I am already starting to feel that anxiety. I guess it becomes second nature to any leader to always have that anxious state knowing that others depend on you and any outcome, good or bad, is a reflection on you as a leader. As the leader, you are the manager of your whole organization. You manage your employees or coworkers, control the system and the overall atmosphere of the workplace. So feeling the anxiety should prompt the leader to be proactive and reactive. Be proactive and be involved with everything, likewise be reactive to the needs of your colleagues. But an effective leader also knows how to manage his own needs, and still be productive. On the other hand, Crucial Conversations teaches you how to become an effective speaker and listener. It provides strategies on how one can participate in conversations where both parties can be heard and feel respected. Similar to Differentiated Leadership, Crucial Conversations puts emphasis on “Starting with the Heart.” As a leader, know how to initiate a conversation by identifying first what you want for yourself, for the other person(s), your relationship with them, even what long term results do you want for the organization. The common notion that when you get yourself involved in a conversation especially with your boss is that you will most likely feel uncomfortable and intimidated.


The 8-step process mentioned on Crucial Conversations refutes that impression. It proves that it is possible to participate in dialogues or discussions and still feel respected and valued. As I plan to pursue my innovation plan, I intend to apply both concepts. I will though most likely practice Crucial Conversations first, as I need to have those important talks with my team. I need to be able to effectively convey my message to get them on board with me. I need to be able to tell my story and also heat theirs. I need to be open to suggestions and accept criticisms as it just gives room for improvement. At present, I have learned to practice a very effective approach after I say something or express myself to others, I always end my statement or story by asking… “What do you think?” or “Do you have anything to add?” This denotes that I am “sharing the floor” with them and that I am ready to listen and open for discussion.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page